the gratitude chronicle d.10.2013

mixer

I was not an easy convert to the industrialization of cooking.

Fierce in my determination to stick with the ways I’d been taught, I stirred batters with my grandmother’s wooden paddle spoon, delicately chopped nuts and veggies with her cook’s knife, and hand mixed doughs of all sorts with my own two hands.

How else was all that love gonna get in there?

But then Grandma’s spoon broke in half, the knife got so dang dull I couldn’t even cut a finger with it, and after an incredibly loooooong afternoon spent hand mixing 5 large batches of protein bites, my BFF Claudi urged (exclaimed in disbelief), “Girl, you gotta get a food processor!!”

Seriously. Best $150 Ever Spent.

The End

Leave a Reply

