By the Seat of My Pants and Other Flights of Fancy in the Kitchen

boxers on clothesline

It’s the perfect day for cookin’, and by that I mean it’s rainy grey skies in the lower 70’s IF that kinda weather, which makes it amenable to standing over a hot stove making Green Soup.

But before I share that recipe with you, there’s something I’d like to discuss.

I don’t know if I’ve told ya this before or not, but I’m not exactly one to stay true to whatever ingredients are listed in a recipe. For one thing, there are so many foods and tastes to experience, and for another, I refuse to throw things out.

I despise the deliberate waste of a perfectly good wilty carrot, soggy potato, mushy tomato, or cabbage that may be verging on a disconcerting shade of ombre.

Which, thank you very much, brings me to greens.

greens

This time of year, there is an abundance of chard, kale, arugula, many other lettuce varieties, and spinach–thanks to Community Sponsored Agriculture.

There are also dandelion, turnip and beet greens, and carrot tops. And, not to justify my gleeful willingness at throwing anything that might even halfway resemble the original into the pot, but all of them do well in this soup, regardless of how crispyfresh (or not) they are:

http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/basic_green_soup.html

Here is a picture of my last version, which was a combo of spinach, kale, chard, and beet greens.

Why? Because that’s what I had on hand and frankly it sounded exciting, so I did it.

green soup

Doesn’t it just exude healthfulness and vigor? It almost speaks to you, doesn’t it?

Well, if it could speak, it would say- in a reassuring, yet authoritative voice- “Eat Me, I will right all the wrongs you’ve done, including that chocolate chip cookie dough overdose/binge you went on last month after being turned down on um, like, the fortieth job you could have done blindfolded, with both hands tied behind your back and hanging upside down from the ceiling, via an impersonal email.”

Oh, sorry, back to the point. Which maybe I have already made, but just in case, here is another excellent venue to showcase those greens.

kale slaw

I call this Kale Slaw. My best friend invented it (got it out of a cookbook– but she’s so brilliant, I’d really rather give her all the credit, because seriously, who would have thought to use half cabbage, half kale?!!.)

Personally, I love it on chicken burgers, but it is great as a side and holds up well at picnics/bbq’s!

My client even stuffed chicken breasts with it, and it was DIVINE.

Creamy Cabbage Slaw, as modified by Kirsten

From Eat Greens by Barbara Scott-Goodman and Liz Trovato

makes 6-8 servings

slaw:

one half head green cabbage, finely shredded (I only used a total of a half a cabbage)

one half head Chinese or napa cabbage, finely shredded (or kale, chard, spinach…you get the picture!)

2 carrots, finely shredded

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

 dressing:

one quarter cup of mayo

1 t. Dijon mustard

1.5 t. sugar

1 T. white vinegar

.5 t celery seeds (I used ground fennel seed)

.5 t. paprika

 1.  To make the slaw put the shredded cabbages and carrots in a large bowl.  Add salt and pepper to taste and toss well to combine.

 2.  To make the dressing, in a medium bowl, stir together mayo, mustard, sugar, vinegar, celery seeds, and paprika until well combined.  Pour the dressing over the cabbage mixture and toss gently to combine.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Cover and chill the slaw until ready to serve.

 3.  Taste and adjust seasonings, if necessary, and serve.

Boxers on clothesline image from thiseclecticlife.com

One thought on “By the Seat of My Pants and Other Flights of Fancy in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

