Hotcakes for Ginger

tower of pancakes

I’ve always been a huge fan of pancakes, but not of actually eating them. It’s more the IDEA of flapjacks that appeals to my eternally exuberant inner child. No, me? I love the entire process of CREATING these oddly (mine are NEVER circular) shaped pillows of delight.

When I was little, I could spend several minutes organizing them (stacking one on top of each other into the Leaning Tower of Pisa) according to hue–creme to vanilla caramel to chestnut. Oh, and speckles had their own category and classification system as well.

My grandpa made the Best in the World (of course)–perfectly round and just the right amount of fluff. Sometimes when he cooked them on the griddle at home, you’d get the extra treat of crispy bacon grease mixed in with your maple syrup and butter. Yum.

Nowadays, as *ahem* a very serious, “too busy” for fun(!?) “grown up”, I make several protein pancake versions for the day to day.

But when I need comfort aka., Grandpa (and I have a lot lately), I make these:

http://wellnessmama.com/7924/easy-almond-flour-pancakes/

Well, sorta. As with everything, I add my own bits of “flair”. My version of this recipe is:

1 c almond flour, 1/2 c coconut meal, 1 t cinnamon, pinch of cloves, 3 eggs, 1/4 c almond milk, an old cast iron skillet that’s seen better days, a fedora of Grandpa’s and Johnny Cash.

The first six items get mixed into a bowl and dribbled onto a lightly greased #7, then flipped over when little bubbles pop on their surface, all while wearing #8 and bustin’ out your bass/baritone notes at the top of your lungs to #9. (But never, EVER forget the intro. It’s that “Hello… I’m Johnny Cash” that makes the whole process magical.)

They taste mighty nice with homemade Honey Lemon Curd and Coconut Cream.

pancakes lemon curd coconut cream

This recipe for Honey Lemon Curd is totally paleo, and 100% zestybrighttart loveliness. It’s so simple and delicious, I don’t change a single thing about it. I make a couple versions of Lemon Curd for Gillespie & Co., but this one is my personal eat-at-home (on everything!) favorite.

http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2011/12/meyer-lemon-curd-honey-sweetened.html

paleo dairy free lemon curd just finished

Which also reminds me! Instead of drivin’ Mama to some over-priced and over-stuffed buffet, why don’t ya whip up some a that lemon curd, turn up Johnny and do some flapjack flippin’ instead?

Leave a Reply

