Getting Stronger, Pt 2…

azi hugs my arm

Aslan has always been a hugger. Now that his first choice (Mateo) is no longer with us, he is learning to make due with who is available–Me.

Now, I don’t know if y’all realize this or not, but I am not a sedentary person. In fact, it’s hard for me to sit at ALL, much less stay still for more than a couple minutes at a time. But a bereaved (and almost 15 lb.) cat hugging on your arm will encourage you to, and right quick.

What does this have to do with getting stronger?

Well, for one thing, you’ve got to take loss a few moments at a time if you’re going to recover. You’ve also got to let your loved ones handle theirs the way that works for them, whether they’re animal or human. By doing that, you give a gift to them and yourself.

Since my life is about to blow up into 8 weeks of physical therapy, a possible wrist surgery, and scrambling to overcome the setback of crappy weather on my training business, I’m glad for these moments of grace with my purrr monster.

Besides which, some Zen Masters believe that purring unblocks chakras and promotes healing.

Well, as far as I’m concerned, it makes perfect sense.

One thought on “Getting Stronger, Pt 2…

Leave a Reply

