How No Good Deed Goes UnPunished, but Lemon Blueberry Bread Can Make It Better

lemon-and-blueberry

I did not intentionally take an almost two week break from writing this blog.

I was forced into hiatus by an awful ogre of a flu that wasn’t content just being the flu. For some reason, this flu felt it should Go Big instead of Go Away, and I came down with PNEUMONIA.

I contracted this “flu” by trying to be a good Ginger and taking care of a very sick, chills and fevers-ridden Steven Van Zandt.

Four days later, I was hooked up to an I.V. at my local Urgent Care Clinic, barely able to grasp the pen required to sign an Agreement to Pay Contract.

Anyway, it has been 1 week and 6 days, and as I recline in bed writing this blog, I am still unable to speak more than three words at time without collapsing into a paroxysm of disgustingly snotty coughs. I am also still running a fever, which puts me in a bit of an ill humor just because I miss my Gran.

Whenever I got sick as a kid/teenager/adult, she would make things that mended me, and fast. Though not your conservatively well-known remedies, they tasted amazing and somehow, almost always contained lemon.

Well, my lovely Gran passed over yonder awhile back, and now, the mending is left to just little ole me.

I NOW PRONOUNCE YOU LEMON BLUEBERRY BREAD:

lemon bb bread

Just seemed appropriate given the WOWSA factor of the bread.

Seriously. Incredibly moist and lemony, with a sweet sharp burst of blueberry in every bite. Gran would be so proud.

This is the recipe I started out with:

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/lemon-blueberry-bread/

But this is what I actually did….

You need to preheat the oven to 350 and mix the following ingredients, in the order given: 1/3 c olive oil, 1 c honey, 2 eggs beaten, the zest and juice of 1 large lemon, 1/2 c almond or coconut milk, 1 c almond flour or flour of your choice, 1/2 c coarsely ground coconut flour, 1 t baking powder, and 1 t salt. When batter is mixed well, add 1 1/2 – 2 c blueberries, and stir just long enough to distribute blueberries. Pour into a sprayed loaf pan and bake for 50 to 70 mins. Bread will be golden all the way around and toothpick or knife will come out clean when done. The bread is so delicious it really does not need the glaze.

Enjoy with abandon, you’ve been sick after all and only drinking soup for the last 2 weeks!

Leave a Reply

