How to Mend A Bruised Heart and other Missed Connections.

Thai Coconut Curry.

It ain’t just for under-the-weather-sniffles anymore, it’s actually quite helpful in any kind of potential sniffle-ing situation. In fact, I am one of it’s Biggest Supporters in the comfort food category.

Here’s the Rest’A the Dirt:

Last week had its Ups and Downs.

Well, ok–more Downs than Ups. By Friday, I was in serious need of sustenance.

I also needed rejuvenation, ie., diversion.

Real Dancing. Like, where I actually put on The Shoes, wore The Dress, and smoldered/pranced my way through dance partners? Check.

ruby slippers

Live Music and unabashedly singing Mary J. at the top of my Lungs in a local watering hole? Affirmative.

skylark sign

Hard labor up in a mountain stable while singing and whistling love songs to My Horse? Yep.

my ole man

BUT, and this is a BIG But (if ya didn’t notice), none of that would’a done Squat if I hadn’t cooked up a batch of Thai Coconut Chicken Curry in my slow cooker.

coconut chicken curry

Just look at that. This Sh** could Save The World from the supposedly impending Zombie Apocalypse. Am I right? Y’all Know What I’m Talkin’ Bout, I can feel it.

Here is a good starter recipe if you’ve never made it before:

http://paleodietlifestyle.com/thai-chicken-curry-soup/

This is how I do it:

This serves me for a week. For a family of 4, double ingredients.

Chop 1/2 an onion and 1 jalapeno and place in cooker with 2 T coconut oil. Set on Low. After about 20 mins, chop up half a red pepper and throw it in there too. When onions are translucent, add 1 c chicken stock, 1 large cooked chicken breast chopped or shredded, 2 T green curry, and cook for a couple hours. Add 2 cups coconut milk, 1 chopped sweet potato or squash, half a yellow bell pepper, chopped mushrooms, 2 t ground ginger, 1 t coriander, salt and pepper, and cook on low overnight while you’re out dancing your patootie off.

Eat for breakfast. Take some for your lunch at the stable. The cowboys may be indignant you didn’t bring any for them too, so make sure you have enough to share. Continue slurping every chance you get, or until things start looking up and the color returns to your cheeks.

me at salsa

One thought on “How to Mend A Bruised Heart and other Missed Connections.

  1. Pingback: Thai Curry Paste Episode II: Authentic Green Curry Paste (Kaeng Khiao Wan) | Reason & Existenz

Leave a Reply

