Dear Elvis…

ElvisPresleyAlohafromHawaii

If I’d existed in your uh, “time zone”, we’d a gotten along famously.

I can only imagine how much you woulda loved all my peanut butter cooking and baking creations, especially since they are good for ya. Fitting into those fancy costumes woulda never become an issue if the Ginger had been around.

**sigh** but sadly You were before Me, and WAY before Paleo.

Back then, I’d a made you these ALL.THE.TIME.

http://cleaneatingmag.com/Recipes/Recipe/Banana-Peanut-Butter-Flaxseed-Cookies.aspx

Clean Elvis Cookies

My Elvis Cookies are legendary in these here parts.

But you see Elvis, technically peanut butter comes from a legume; and while nuts are ok in Paleo, legumes aren’t. I guess they just don’t mesh with the whole Hunting/Gathering philosophy.

Being a Baker, I just gotta make what people want, and if it ain’t peanut butter, it’s gotta be something else but just as tasty.

Undated picture of US rock star Elvis Pr

Yeah, I’m feelin’ ya, but Take Heart Elvis!

Because I am uncommonly clever if not exceedingly resourceful when occasion demands, and when these showed up in my newsfeed last night-

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/02/24/soft-baked-peanut-butter-chocolate-swirl-cookies/

-well, I just decided enough was enough.

Thankfully, there is a whole world of real nuts to munch on out there–walnuts, almonds, cashews, it’s amazing!! And, nowadays we can do things like Make Nut Butter out of any of those ole nuts in our own kitchens if we so desire!

So, this is what happened:

I preheated the oven to 350 and assembled the following ingredients–1 mashed banana, 3/4 c real maple syrup, 1 1/4 c almond butter, 2 t vanilla, and mixed thoroughly. Then, I stirred in 1 t baking soda and 2 c almond flour. I also tossed in some chopped up dark chocolate and stirred the batter well.

After dividing the dough in half and placing in a separate bowl, I added 1/2 c cacao powder to the other half.

yy doughs

I rolled each batter into balls and matched them up.

yy balls

Squished ’em together and rolled again.

yy ball

Then baked on a cookie sheet for about 10 mins.

They ain’t exactly perfect, but they ARE delicious! Exactly somethin’ a gentle southern boy like yourself would love.

yy cookie

Yeah, you and I woulda had a GREAT time messin’ around in that kitchen together. : )

Rest In Peace My Blessed Friend. xo

Leave a Reply

