What’s Up ButterNut?!

When you’re jobless and a compulsive cook, your friends do really nice things.

Like get you out of the house so you can (presumably) drink and dance away that nagging worry about being homeless come March 1st, not to mention handing over all the stuff in their kitchen they absolutely know they won’t get around to.

One word: Yes, Please.

Ok, that was two, but who’s really counting anyway?

This:

north pizza

Is an AbsaFreakinAmazing pizza with Squash Sauce, Roasted Red Peppers, Mushrooms, and Arugula.

It is from a very Posh and Trendy watering hole called North.

Which of course I fell in love with immediately upon spying this little number:

moretti

A fine glass of Moretti, dispensed by a very large and swarthy man whom I shall hereafter refer to as “Pietro”. (Linda, my friend, you sure know how to cheer a girl up!)

Anyway, fine Italian men and Birra aside, squash sauce is the Bomb.

You heard me.

It just so happened that not only was a beautiful Butternut baby bestowed upon my giggly little self,  but a red pepper, vidalia onion, a plastic bag of Paleo Pasta, and some aromatic mushrooms too.

Very Fortunate, if you ask Me.

So, here is what happened.

http://www.marthastewart.com/341439/butternut-squash-pasta-sauce

Except, I roasted my butternut in a crockpot, after dressing it with garlic cloves, a smidge of olive oil, some sliced red pepper, and onion.

butternut and onions

Once it was easy to pierce with fork and flavorful (Dude, what did you think I was going to do? Put it back?!), I put it in a blender with some almond milk, and Voilà!!

butternut squash sauce

The official Gillespie & Co., Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce was born. (You may season accordingly. Sea Salt, Pepper, Spanish Paprika…just sayin’)

This stuff is GOOOOOD.

I made the Paleo Pasta (which was delish btw, but since I am unsure of the origin?, um, uh, yeah…), but it would totally be great on spaghetti squash or zucchini “spaghetti” too. (or, shhh, regular pasta? pizza crust? if you’re not Paleo that is.)

I also threw in grilled chicken, the delightful mushrooms, a wee fine amount of me Irish Cheese, took a pic of it:

butternut squash pasta

and then promptly inhaled it of course.

What can I say? I get hungry.

Chasing after a big Italian dude will do that to ya.

3 thoughts on “What’s Up ButterNut?!

  1. That looks GOOD, Krys. Cooking and baking are cathartic. And it doesn’t hurt to eat what you create either. 😉 Hugs and you have a place to stay with me any time if you need. Seriously.

  2. Pingback: Eating out Light and Healthy | The Epigenetics Project Blog

Leave a Reply

