Apple Fig Butter

What indulgences fill your head when the word Delightful! sings out of your mouth?

When I was young, standing at my grandmother’s elbow in the kitchen learning about some new concoction, baked good or casserole was all it took to send me into jerky fits of exuberance and then subsequent hopping up and down on my tippy toes so I could see what she was up to. (I’d wear down eventually and pull up a kitchen chair to stand on.)

As I grew older (and taller), helping Grandpa turn the meat grinder or flipping perfectly medium rare hamburgers on the grill were sources of excitement.

But finally, and I don’t know what prompted the decision, I was told I could help with CANNING.

large fig jar

Ok, yeah, I get it– many folks wouldn’t consider THAT enjoyable, but I know for a fact there are a lot of us who do.

For the rest of you, there’s faking it.

With Valentine’s Day close by, y’all may be feeling like surprising your loved ones with something decadent, yet original, so how’s ’bout giving Fig Butter a try?

There are so many places for it to go, like on the Valentine’s Morning Breakfast of waffles, sausage, and eggs! Try it in your greek yogurt or a farro salad with chicken and celery. It is especially yummy on a stick of Irish Cheese. (Not that I would know any of this personally or anything…)

fig cheese fruit tray

It also makes a splendid looking gift spooned into a 4 oz. Mason Jar and sealed with a kiss.

There are several recipes out there. but my favorite was posted by PaleOMG genius, Juli Bauer. Her crockpot recipe includes apples, but for my Gillespie & Co., version, I use my homemade applesauce instead. I also switch out the apple cider for a smidge of apple cider vinager. But you know, you can just do what comes natural to ya. : )

http://paleomg.com/crockpot-fig-apple-butter/

Crockpot Fig Apple Butter
Ingredients
  • 20 dried black figs, stems removed, cut in half
  • 6 apples, peeled, cored and diced
  • 1 cup apple cider
  • ½ cup honey (or other sweetener such as maple syrup)
  • 3 tablespoons cinnamon (sounds like a lot, because it is, and it’s awesome)
  • ½ teaspoon ground cloves
  • ¼ teaspoon nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
Instructions
  1. Place all ingredients in the slow cooker. Mix well.
  2. Put the slow cooker at low and cook for 6-8 hours until apples are completely soft and almost mushy.
  3. Place ingredients (I did mine in two batches) in food processor and puree until smooth.
  4. Eat with anything. A spoon, on some banana bread, on a banana. Possibilities are endless.
  5. Store in refrigerator in a jar. Because jars are cute.
Leave a Reply

